The 2 groups of Asbestos

Video 6 of 33
1 min 25 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

The Two Categories of Asbestos

Asbestos, a hazardous material found in various environments, is classified into two primary groups, each with distinct characteristics and risks.

Serpentines and Amphiboles: The Two Groups

All six asbestos types are categorised into either Serpentines or Amphiboles, with Chrysotile being the only Serpentine and the most prevalent in the UK.

Serpentines: Characteristics and Risks

  • Serpentines, such as Chrysotile, have curly fibres arranged in layers.
  • These layers create gaps, allowing water absorption.
  • Their structure makes them less resistant to water infiltration.

Amphiboles: Properties and Hazards

  • Amphiboles, including the blue and brown asbestos types, have strong, straight fibres.
  • These fibres form a compact structure, impeding liquid absorption.
  • Their rigid composition makes them more challenging to dampen and control.

The different absorption capabilities of these groups have significant implications for asbestos management and risk mitigation. Serpentines are generally easier to handle due to their water-absorbent nature, while Amphiboles pose greater challenges due to their resistance to moisture.

This document offers a concise overview of the two primary groups of asbestos, highlighting their distinct physical properties and the implications for health and safety management.